Litchfield Country Club Golf Reviews

Litchfield Country Club opened in 1966 on the site of an old rice plantation. Located in Pawleys Island, it is one of the oldest and finest golf treasures in the Myrtle Beach area. For years golfers have enjoyed the traditional layout and southern atmosphere.

OVERALL SCORE: [8.1]

  • Tees:
    [8]
  • Greens:
    [8]
  • Fairways:
    [8]
  • Proshop:
    [9]
  • Grill:
    [8]
  • Staff:
    [9]
Based on 945 reviews »

Last 20 Reviews from Myrtle Beach Golf Insider



Pat on 02/09/2018:
" Lovely golf club with great food and great service. "
OVERALL SCORE: [10]
Timothy Spillane on 03/20/2017:
" Got there early and got out early. The staff was GREAT and friendly. The course is in very good shape overall. Some thin spots on the fairways but a great place. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Mike (Oneida,NY) on 02/20/2017:
" Brought a large group of 16 golfers. Staff is great here from bag drop to starters. We play here often because it is one of the best draining courses and usually will allow us to ride the fairways. Always in good shape. Very friendly clubhouse staff too. A must play. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Ted on 07/08/2016:
" Old style golf course with lots of doglegs & nice par 3's. Fairways are a little thin in areas & the greens are putting slow but overall not in bad shape. Most MB courses are suffering some right now. Pace of play was just under 4 hours as a foursome. Very friendly staff. "
OVERALL SCORE: [8]
Tom (Abington, VA) on 07/01/2016:
" Good. "
OVERALL SCORE: [7]
Stephen (Roseland, VA) on 06/05/2016:
" Green just aerated..very disappointed not informed before playing "
OVERALL SCORE: [6]
Pierce (Irmo, SC) on 05/21/2016:
" Great course layout, starter was professional and knowledgable. "
OVERALL SCORE: [6]
Charlie (Campobello, SC) on 05/20/2016:
" All ok "
OVERALL SCORE: [8]
James (Ocean View, NJ) on 05/16/2016:
" Extremely female friendly. They even had a set of tees in front of the reg red tees (for juniors) These were perfect for my wife to play.People should be able to play from where their ability lets them. It makes the game much more enjoyable. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Troy (Salt Lake City, UT) on 05/15/2016:
" Friendliest staff in Myrtle. Fun old school design, need to hit draws and fades to score here. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
John (Chesapeake, VA) on 05/15/2016:
" Very helpful and attentive staff. Unfortunately, we got rained out after 1-1/2 holes. We have a rain check so will be back! "
OVERALL SCORE: [8]
Steve (Easley, SC) on 05/13/2016:
" One of our favorites when we come to MB. Greens were pretty rough, too much dirt showing. Otherwise very nice. And nice folks working there! 5/9/16 "
OVERALL SCORE: [8]
James (Leland, NC) on 05/11/2016:
" The front nine was in excellent shape. Some of the greens and fairways on the backside had sparse grass, but not horrible. Good course; not to long but challenging hole layouts. "
OVERALL SCORE: [7]
John (Little Rock, SC) on 05/10/2016:
" Place is great all around, course allows for players of all levels to enjoy themselves and still face a few challenges. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Jason (Pawleys Island, SC) on 05/09/2016:
" The course was in good shape. We will play here again. I was a little disappointed that the grill was not serving hot dogs at the turn. The lady in the grill was not the friendliest and said they only had cold sandwiches; she said she didn't have any more hotdogs cooking? It was only 2:00. They also require that you pay extra if you want to hit range balls before your match. Otherwise, it was a great course. "
OVERALL SCORE: [6]
Glyn (Jefferson City, TN) on 05/06/2016:
" Lady in the pro shop was very friendly and gave excellent service. The starter was very knowledgeable about the course and helpful! The layout is very good, an old style course where you have to work the ball to be successful. Highly recommend this course!! "
OVERALL SCORE: [8]
Josephine (Staten Island, NY) on 05/02/2016:
" Course was in excellent condition. Attendant in grill room was excellent helping with information. Definitely on my list for next year. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
William (Stephens City, VA) on 05/01/2016:
" Each hole had unique challenges. I enjoyed them all. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Bruce on 04/17/2016:
" Our group has played Litchfield many times over the years. The course is starting to show its age, Although greens were in good shape, they played slow. And the course is starting to get a little ratty over time. The Staff is always courteous and hospitable, and accommodated us well. That said, we will probably take Litchfield off our course list in the future. "
OVERALL SCORE: [5]
Thomas (Columbus, MS) on 04/10/2016:
" No comments to add "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Ky (Lancaster, OH) on 04/05/2016:
" I love the course and it was in excellent condition. Tee times were a little close together with other groups. But still had a wonderful day!!! We even replayed the course and didn't lose any balls after buying a bunch after the 1st round. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Kirk (Troy, MI) on 04/05/2016:
" Beautiful golf course. "
OVERALL SCORE: [10]
Steve (Franklin Furnace, OH) on 03/31/2016:
" Nice course. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
John (Carmel, IN) on 03/21/2016:
" It seemed like we weren't welcome. Folks weren't polite. "
OVERALL SCORE: [7]
John (Augusta, MI) on 03/17/2016:
" Overall a B+ rating. The greens were hard and would not hold a wedge approach shot. Fun layout, great staff. I would definitely play it again. "
OVERALL SCORE: [7]
Daniel (Mount Kisco, NY) on 02/03/2016:
" Staff was friendly and course is in great shape for this time of year "
OVERALL SCORE: [8]
Ronnie (Geneva, OH) on 02/03/2016:
" Staff treated us very well and took care of our needs. "
OVERALL SCORE: [8]
Timothy on 01/25/2016:
" After 1 1/2 hour frost delay we got out in the same order as the tee time schedule which is hard to maintain with the delay. The staff was a little gruff. The course is in good shape considering all the wet weather. Tees were good and greens were in great shape. I will return. "
OVERALL SCORE: [8]
Michael (Ellicott City, MD) on 01/06/2016:
" Greens in very good condition for Jan. Two fairways had challenges due to heavy rain. Love this traditional layout. Great for walkers. Long hitter may have to pull a three wood on occasion. Lengthy par threes make up for some shorter holes. "
OVERALL SCORE: [8]
Eric (Triangle, VA) on 11/19/2015:
" Pace of play was excellent. "
OVERALL SCORE: [8]
James (Rock Hill, SC) on 11/17/2015:
" The attendants made our day, informed us of all the things we needed to know to enjoy the course. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Brett (South Plainfield, NJ) on 11/07/2015:
" Very good overall. "
OVERALL SCORE: [7]
William (Wellington, OH) on 11/01/2015:
" Really enjoyed Litchfield CC. We played on Thursday, the fairways and greens were in pristine condition, even after all the rain on Tuesday and Wednesday. We appreciated going off as a twosome, there are clubs that won't allow that. Great time. "
OVERALL SCORE: [8]
Jim (Erie, PA) on 10/23/2015:
" Everyone was very nice and helpful. Course was wide open they started is off on the back and we did not see another golfer all day! We will definitely play this course next trip down to the grand stand!! "
OVERALL SCORE: [7]
Steve (Nashua, NH) on 10/21/2015:
" Very good experience. "
OVERALL SCORE: [8]
Kay (Spring City, PA) on 10/20/2015:
" The course was in good shape, nothing spectacular. The service was outstanding. Definitely the most pleasant and helpful staff we found. "
OVERALL SCORE: [8]
Keith (Uniontown, OH) on 10/19/2015:
" Considering all the rain - the course was in great shape. Greens mowed/clean. Pace of play was great. "
OVERALL SCORE: [8]
Mark (Stratham, NH) on 10/02/2015:
" Starter, Paul, was very helpful. I'm from up north, found the local grass texture to be quite different. Ground is very spongy, don't get a lot of roll. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Jay on 09/25/2015:
" Course was in great shape and reminds me of the old courses build in the 1960's. sharp doglegs narrow fairways. My wife and I played in under 3 hours for 18 holes. Tee off on Sunday around 12:30 p.m. Had a great time, will play again and recommend playing this course if you come to MYRTLE BEACH, We arrive early for our 1:30 p.m. tee time ate lunch and asked pro when could we start, he got us off in 10 minutes, a hour early for our scheduled tee time that was great! We are from Omaha, Nebraska. You will enjoy this course. "
OVERALL SCORE: [10]
James (Royersford, PA) on 09/23/2015:
" Played the white tees and it would have been more enjoyable from the blue, I hit too many drive through the doglegs and out of bounds. "
OVERALL SCORE: [7]
Craig (Bethlehem, GA) on 09/18/2015:
" Course was in great shape. Play was extremely slow and took 5 hours. Possibly due to a tournament that was taking place during same time. Greens were a good speed but difficult to read. Must take the grain into account. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Sonney (Florence, KY) on 09/18/2015:
" Being a mature course the trees and shrubs were also. Some excellent Live Oak. The homes along the fairways were also very interesting. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
George (Atoka, TN) on 09/18/2015:
" Need lots of local knowledge to play course well. "
OVERALL SCORE: [8]
Jack (Columbia, MS) on 09/15/2015:
" I like the fact that I was treated with respect. I have played all over the world most resorts treat you as a dollar figure and rush you through like you're on a conveyer. I was never rushed and was paired with a lovely couple From North Carolina with whom I truly enjoyed playing with. Thank you Litchfield and staff. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Lloyd (Gastonia, NC) on 09/05/2015:
" The course was in great shape but I felt the greens were way to slow. The attendants, cart girls, and starter were all great. "
OVERALL SCORE: [8]
Kristian (Mount Pleasant, SC) on 08/26/2015:
" The staff was awesome! "
OVERALL SCORE: [8]
Mark (Johns Island, SC) on 08/18/2015:
" Fortunately they paired us up with a golfer that has played the course before. There are a few tee shots where that knowledge came in handy. Nice course would play again! "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Jeff (Alpharetta, GA) on 07/26/2015:
" Enjoyed the course, challenging layout in very good condition. "
OVERALL SCORE: [8]
Richard (Waxhaw, NC) on 07/15/2015:
" Always enjoy playing here. "
OVERALL SCORE: [8]
Sue (Greer, SC) on 07/06/2015:
" Liked forward tees for a member of our group. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
See All 945 reviews »